covering our community

Let’s Learn Together

Sometimes the best teachers are your friends. Sometimes those friends are also still learning. Let’s learn together!

Chris teaching me how to roller skate for the first time
Photo by Carolyn Hoeckmann-Percival

Last Saturday, my friends Chris Aguilar and Carolyn Hoeckmann-Percival took me roller skating. This was TERRIFYING because I’ve never “skated” anything before.

Ice skating? Nope. Skiing? Nope. Surfing? Nope. I did go snowboarding ONCE, though.

Trust me, it doesn’t count…

Anyway, I didn’t sign up for any special classes with any special professional instructor. Instead, my friends held my hand the whole time and gave me a few pointers while I tried (very hard) to stay upright.

I got a lot of advice and encouragement from friends and strangers alike.

A little girl who looked to be about eight said, “Just waddle like a duck!” She then commenced to show me what it looked like.

I can’t lie, it was cute and exactly what it looked like.

My friends also gave me the basics: bend your knees and lean forward instead of backward. Use your hands to keep balance.

I admit that I can be a little stubborn, so when the advice: “It’s okay to fall,” was brought up, I made it a point to do the OPPOSITE if my life depended on it.

I fell only twice so I say that was a successful day.

Despite my awkward rolling while children ten years younger than me zoomed past with almost no effort, it was fun (rather than embarrassing) and I hopped back in the car the next day.

So, I suppose the moral of the story is that you don’t always need to seek professional help to get better at something. Sometimes it just takes practice and a little nudge by a five-year-old to get you moving…whether you intended to or not.

~ Dom

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

