covering our community

Lemon³: Bitter is Better

Lemon³ Cake. You know you want some!

Do you ever have those days when you just can’t seem to fight your cravings? I thought so. Me too! And this week my taste obsession was oddly LEMONS! Maybe my body was suffering from a lack of vitamin C, or maybe my taste buds just needed a zing. Either way, I had to have me some lemons.

The tough thing about lemons, though, is you can’t exactly just take a bite of one and eat it like an orange (if you can you are a BOSS). So I got thinking, what could I make with lemons? After a week filled with lemon chicken and lemon heads I decided I wanted to do something new. Something epic-ly delicious.

I decided to make lemon cake, but not just any lemon cake — the lemon cake to end all lemon cakes. I like to call it the lemon soaked lemon jello lemon cake but that name’s a little long to lets call it Lemon³ Cake (Three times the lemon!)

It is seriously the most simple recipe ever, consisting of a box of store bought lemon cake mix, a package of lemon Jello mix, eggs, water, oil, lemon juice and powdered sugar. Its so easy a boy could do it! (Just kidding guys, I know you can cook too)

Your ingredients

Your ingredients

Start out with the lemon cake mix and add the jello, 3/4 cup water and 3/4 cup veggie oil. Beat for 3 min. Then add 4 eggs and beat another 3 min. Put in a large cake pan of your choice and pop it in your oven preheated to 350°. Let bake for 40 min and voila! Cake! But we’re not quite finished yet. Take 1/2 cup lemon juice and 2 cups powdered sugar and mix until dissolved. Poke little holes in the cake while it’s still warm with a tooth pick  and pour that lemony goodness all over it. It will soak into the cake and glaze the top of it.

And that’s it! You now have a delicious lemon cake that will seriously zing your socks off! Yay lemons!

Yours always,

Oh My Ganache

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

